Miss Rwanda 2020 winner parts ways with managers

Wednesday April 1 2020



More by this Author

A few weeks into her reign, the 2020 Miss Rwanda appears to be in a spot of bother following her separation from Rwanda Inspiration Backup, the company that offi  cially manages the franchise.

Through a written announcement released on March 17, by Naomie Nishimwe, announced the parting of ways with her management, saying  she will concentrate on her core project of promoting mental health awareness, but will continue collaborating with Rwanda Inspiration Back Up only with regards to obligations to the 2020 Miss Rwanda.

But this raises questions as to why Miss Nishimwe didn’t find it viable running her campaigns under her management team like all her predecessors and does not shed light on what exactly prompted her drastic decision to part ways with the designated managers.

 “I can’t comment on this matter since we plan to meet the concerned parties,” Dieudonné Ishimwe, who heads Rwanda Inspiration Back Up, told Rwanda Today.

Though having registered some initial successes, Rwanda Inspiration Back Up has over years been criticised by the public over unprofessionalism in managing the Miss Rwanda entity.

These concerns popped up during arrangements of past editions.


According to Rwanda Academy of Languages (RALC), an institution under the Ministry of Youth and Culture,  Rwanda Inspiration Backup has to back all activities of Miss Rwanda for a period of one year.

Ministry of Youth and Culture and Rwanda Inspiration Backup on preparations for the Miss Rwanda Pageant and the management of crowned Miss and follows up on the execution of their projects.

Rwanda Inspiration Back Up was the first company to officially manage the Miss Rwanda Beauty Pageant, a role it took on from Ministry Youth and Culture since 2014.

Since its initiation, past Miss Rwanda winners included Dalila Uwera (1993), Grace Bahati (2009), Aurore Kayibanda Mutesi (2012) and Colombe Akiwacu (2014), Doriane Kundwa (2015), Jolly Mutesi (2016), Elsa Irakunda (2017), Liliane Irakunda (2018) and Meghan Nimwiza (2019).

Questions linger as to why Miss Nishimwe didn’t fi nd it viable running her campaigns under the team like all her predecessors